Christ Upon the Mountain Peak / Jesus on the Mountain Peak

Jesus on the mountain peak stands alone in glory blazing; Let us, if we dare to speak, join the saints and angels praising.  Alleluia!  2  Trembling at his feet we saw Moses and Elijah speaking. All the Prophets and the law shout through them their joyful greeting:  3   Swift the cloud of glory came,  God, proclaiming in its thunder Jesus as the Son by name! Nations, cry aloud in wonder!  4  Jesus is the chosen One, living hope of every nation, hear and heed him, everyone; sing, with earth and all creation,
This hymn about the Transfiguration (Matthew 17:1-9, Mark 9: 2-10 and Luke 9:28-36) was written by English theologian, minister (United Reformed Church, then free-lance) and hymn-writer Brian A. Wren (b 1936).

It was initially published in 1962, and revised in 1977 - although many people appears to be continuing to use the earlier, now unapproved, version.

With meter, tunes it is set to include:
  • MOWSLEY by Cyril Vincent Taylor (1907-1991)
  • SHILLINGFORD by Peter W Cutts (b. 1937) - written for the text (ref)
  • FENITON by Sydney H Nicholson (1875–1947)
  • LIEBSTER JESU by Johann Rudolf Ahle (1664)
  • An unnamed tune by Ricky Manalo
  • An unnamed tune by Ron Klusmeier



Choir with organ accompaniment (recorded in a church service):

Choir with orchestra - organ accompaniment -Tune MOWSLEY:

Solo singer (with effects) - piano accompaniment -Tune MOWSLEY:

Instrumental - organ. Tune MOWSLEY:

Solo singer, tune - Manalo:


The lyrics are copyright so cannot be reproduced here. But they are currently available on this website (original lyrics) or this one (revised version). A rough outline is:

Original lyrics

1  Christ, upon the mountain peak
... Alleluia!

2 Trembling at his feet we saw ...

3  Swift the cloud of glory came ...

4  This is God's beloved Son ...

Revised lyrics

1  Jesus on the mountain peak
... Alleluia!

2  Trembling at his feet we saw ...

3  Swift the cloud of glory came ...

4  Jesus is the chosen One ...

See more ...

No comments:

Post a comment